Cammett – Typography – Post 1

 

As I was getting into my car the other day I realized the typeface on the front of my Jeep Wrangler. The typography is a basic san serif grosteque font. Given that jeeps are targeted equally to male and female demographics I am not surprised by the basic or plain font they chose.

I found the typeface very interesting because it was so simple. It did not have a fancy or flashy font like Porsche because that is not what the jeep brand stands for. It is a basic typeface for a basic car that gets you from point A to point B.

Looking past the simplicity of the typography I found that it actually suits the car very well. The boldness and steadiness in stroke weight emphasizes the toughness of the jeep and how it drives. Not to mention that the typeface is all on one line, which also stresses the sturdiness of the car.

After looking up Jeeps old typeface, which was more of a fun serif type, it is obvious that they modernized their logo when they started coming out with more reliable cars. Originally the jeep was known for its Wrangle, which fit their old typeface to the tee, however the new typeface is more suitable for its new modern design.

Overall I think it is a great utilization of typeface to convey the true characteristics of a jeep.

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by ssadkows on February 1, 2011 at 12:12 AM

    Jill, I agree with you. I think the typography really reflects the personality of the car. It’s simple, but effective. The more I think about it, I realize that whenever I think of a Jeep, I immediately picture the name written in that font. The boldness really suits the identity.

    Reply

  2. Posted by gsyellin on February 2, 2011 at 7:39 PM

    I completely agree with your assessment of this typeface. Like you said, Jeeps are marketed to both men and women so it is fitting that they chose a more basic typeface. I also think this typeface works for Jeep because the Jeep ‘code’ is that it can go anywhere and is built to somewhat resemble an animal. I think that this is also reflected in the typography as the two ‘e’s in the middle of the word look like eyes (much like the round headlights on a jeep).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

