Cammett-Logo-Post 3

As you all know, the first logo I have posted is for Apple. I like this particular logo because it is so simple which fits the brand well, the computers are known for being so easy to use. There is no need for words in the logo, it explains itself, which is what makes the logo so strong. I also like the choice of color they used because it gives it an elegant feel, which represents the brand well.

The second logo I posted is the logo for Microsoft. I do not like this logo at all because it is too basic. There is very little creativity put into it in my mind. I do like the use of color in the graphic element representing the windows; it definitely spices it up, however it does not do enough. The basic typeface and choice of black writing does little for the logo as well. Overall the logo does not do a good job of differentiating its brand from others like the apple logo does.

This made me realize that less is more when it comes to logos as long as it is represented well. The choice of colors, shades, and typefaces are extremely important. Additionally I found that logos with no words are much more appealing and stronger.

 

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by gsyellin on February 14, 2011 at 8:57 PM

    I completely agree with you about the Apple logo, it conveys simplicity and elegance, two characteristics associated with apple products. I also understand the points you make regarding the Microsoft logo but I think you might be selling it a little bit short, in some ways I think your assertions about the simplicity of Apple’s logo may also apply to that of Microsoft. That being said I do also like Apple’s more than Microsoft’s.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

