Post 4-Ortman-Logo

Rationale

Project 2: Logo

2/28/11

Design Strategy:

In desiging my logo, I wanted to express organization, precision, creation, and have it be appealing to the eye. I struggled in trying to find a way to put all these qualities together into one image. I wanted to attract clients that were hardworkers yet fun to work with. While doing this my mom came to mind. She has been an architect for years and has all these qualities I wanted to incorporate. With that said, I designed a logo that included my intials to my name, had the looks of structural architectural design, but gave off a welcoming vibe through its colors.

Style Sheet:

Letterhead

Name: Cloister Std Open Face, 28 pt./21.6 pt.; no kerning

Contact Info: Bodoni SvtyTwo SC ITC TT Book, 10 pt./12 pt.; no kerning

Body Text: Bodoni SvtyTwo SC ITC TT Book, 9 pt./10.8 pt.; no kerning

Business Card

Name: Cloister Std Open Face, 12 pt./14.4 pt.; no kerning

Contact Info: Bodoni SvtyTwo SC ITC TT Book, 9 pt./10.8 pt.; no kerning

Envelope

Name: Cloister Std Open Face, 12 pt./14.4 pt.; no kerning

Address: Bodoni SvtyTwo SC ITC TT 9 pt./10.8 pt.; kerning

Choice of Typefaces:

I incorporated and used the Cloister Std and Bodoni SvtyTwo SC ITC TT typefaces for my stationery set. The Cloister Std typeface is very structured and the differentiation of strokeweight in the letters parallels the lines and different fill spots of the logo. The Bodoni SvtyTwo SC ITC TT typeface was a great suitor in displaying my contact information. The long extended lines reminded me of the lines displayed in the logo and the variation in the size/arrangment of numbers in comparison to the letters gave it more of a creative and upbeat feel that parallels to the colors used in comparison to the Cloister Std typeface. The letters in the Bodoni SvtyTwo SC ITC TT are also all capital letters which goes along with my initials found in my logo. Both typefaces combined match with my personality as a bright, creative, yet focused individual.

Margins:

Letterhead

Top Margin: 3 picas

Left Margin: 3 picas

Right Margin: 3 picas

Bottom Margin: 3 picas

Visuals:

My logo is supposed to represent me. The white lines represent my first and middle initial and the circle shape is the first letter of my last name. The overall design of the logo is very put together which is how I am as a person. The Cloister Std font is very architectural in a way, which is what my logo reminds me of. My mom is an architect and I gained my creative abilities from her so I found it appropriate to incorporate her work into my logo. The Cloister Std typeface also works well with the shift in fill within the circle due to the criss crossing lines of my intials just like the typeface’s difference in stroke weights in each letter seen in my name. I felt that Bodoni SvtyTwo SC ITC TT typeface was structured with its capital letters just like my initials but was also quirky and fun in a way with the varied sizes in numbers displayed in comparison to the letters. The red and yellow colors are two of my favorite colors because they are bright, memorable, stand out, and grab attention. I felt that the Bodoni SvtyTwo SC ITC TT typeface had the same effects due to its wavelike affect on the position of the numbers.

Extras:

I used red and yellow because they represent warmth, are bright, and will make one look/remember them. The yellow is more of a golden tint and due to its rectangular shape, it reminds me of a door of opportunity. Throughout my career, I will have many doors to open, but only few will bring success and it is up to me to choose the right one. Red is my favorite color because it is deep, bright, and powerful. I felt the two colors complimented each other nicely and were appealing to the eye. The red line going down the side of each item (letterhead, business card, and envelope) reinforces the structured effect I wantedw to express to clients that I take pride in.

Leave a Reply

