Sadkowski – Post 5

Rationale

Project 2: Logo

February 29, 2011

Design Strategy:

Due to my two differing majors, Advertising and Forensic Science, it was difficult to come up with a professional logo – so I decided to make mine personal.  I love animals, partially, I guess, because I am one!  I had two open-heart surgeries; the first one left me with pig parts, and the most recent one replaced those with cow parts!  People might think it’s creepy, but I think it’s cool.  Also, my last name: SadKOWski.  I think it’s funny, though, so I want to show that I can take these silly little bovine gifts life has been presented with, and own them!

Style Sheet:

Business Card: Name: OCR A Std. 13.2 pt.; no kerning

Contact Info: Apple Symbols, 10pt.; no kerning

Envelope:

Business Card: Name: OCR A Std. 18.5 pt.; no kerning

Contact Info: Apple Symbols, 13pt.; no kerning

Letterhead:

Business Card: Name: OCR A Std. 24 pt.; no kerning

Contact Info: Apple Symbols, 14pt.; no kerning

Body Copy: Apple Symbols, 12pt.; no kerning

Choice of Typefaces:

When working on my logo, I knew I would be using san serif typefaces.  Because the logo it comical and kind of laid back, the fonts would have to compliment that.  I used OCR A Std. because I like that digital feel it gives off.  To my eye, the stroke weights reflected the stroke weight used in  the cow’s outline.  For any copy other than my name, I used Apple Symbols.  I thought this font was very simple, neat, but not overly professional, which is good because my logo is personal, not professional.

Visuals/Color:

Because I am completely happy with the cow presence in my life, I wanted her (the cow’s) face to look cute, uneven, liberal, hence the asymmetrical eyes.  I think this gives it a friendly look, which is something I wanted because I don’t take this part of my life too seriously.  I chose black and white because it looks simple and classy.  In the design, I decided to add a little bit of red.  I underlined my name with two lines, one black and one red.  I love the red, black, and white color combination so I decided to go with that theme.  In order to place a little more emphasis on the red, I decided to make the back of the business card and the flap of the envelope red.  I think this doesn’t take away from the logo, but spices up the design.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Stephanie on March 1, 2011 at 10:07 AM

    This logo is unique, and funny! I like it!
    It makes me want to keep looking at it, because it is so unique.
    I also like the red accent, it makes everything pop really nicely.

    Reply

  2. Posted by cchou03 on March 2, 2011 at 2:44 PM

    This logo is super cute!
    After reading your design strategy, i can clearly see the message that you are trying to convey.
    It is a very personal logo, and i think this logo must means a lot to you.

    Reply

  3. Posted by gushlaw11 on March 2, 2011 at 2:58 PM

    When i first looked at your logo I laughed, but in a good way! I understand how it looks like a sad cow and it it is really entertaining. I think that your rationale story works perfectly with what I saw by simply looking at your designs. I also really enjoyed how you incorporated the red into your black and white cow because it adds to the design and also breaks up the page.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

