Bouvia-Stationery Set- Post 5

Design Strategy:

 

My personal logo is a music record with a music note on the inside that extends up through the record. I created it using basic geometric shapes (3 circles and one rectangle.) By using these basic shapes I was able to convey a sense of professionalism and simplicity. I designed this logo because I love music. Music has always been a big part of my life and I believe that anyone who knows me, knows that. I chose to do a record because it’s not something you see every day in today’s age and I thought it would make people want to stop and look at it.

 

Typefaces:

For my name throughout the entire stationery set I used Insignia LT Std, and I made it orange. I like this font because it is a very geometric typeface and it accentuates the circular shape of my logo. For my contact information throughout the set I used Thonburi because I felt this sans Serif typeface was still relatively geometric, but not as extreme as Insignia, and it’s easy to read.

 

Style Sheets:

Letter:

Name: Insignia LT Std, 20 pt., 24 pt leading, 0 tracking

Contact Info & Body: Thonburi, 11 pt., 13.2 pt. leading, 0 tracking

Margins: Top & Bottom: 4p2,  Inside & Outside: 4p0

 

Envelope:

Name: Insignia LT Std, 18 pt., 21.6 pt leading, 0 tracking

Contact Info: Thonburi, 10 pt., 12 pt. leading, 0 tracking

 

Business Card:

Name: Insignia LT Std, 18 pt., 21.6 pt leading, 0 tracking

Contact Info: Thonburi, 10 pt., 12 pt. leading, 0 tracking

 

Visuals:

The stylistic qualities of the logo work with the fonts I have chosen because, as I mentioned before, the geometric typeface highlights the circular shape of the logo. I also changed the color of my name to match the orange color within the record. The typeface I chose for my contact information is a sans Serif font that retains a circular quality, while still remaining easy to read. I chose to use the color orange as an accent because I feel that orange is an energetic, warm color yet it’s not as extreme as red. I feel that this emulates my personality: warm, energetic, excited.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by gsyellin on March 1, 2011 at 3:37 PM

    I said a lot of this in class, but I really like the design of your logo. You said that it is supposed to be a vinyl record with a musical going from the middle to the top, which is a very nice design. Your logo also looks like it could be the side of a headphone (like the beats by dre) and the note looks like it could be the pin that you use to play a record. Your logo could represent various different things but they all carry the same meaning.

    Reply

  2. Posted by leigho14 on March 1, 2011 at 11:46 PM

    I really loved your logo when you explained it in our group critiques today. It is very simple but stresses your personality in a very creative way. You said that music is a huge part of your life and the vinyl record is a very clever and vintage way to portray it instead of the usual headphones people use. I love the orange and black combo of colors. This color scheme gives your logo and overall stationery set a warm and welcoming appeal, with a bit of spunk. The layout of each stationery item is very clear cut and organized that matches up with your logo as well.

    Reply

  3. Posted by mjcohen13 on March 2, 2011 at 2:58 PM

    I think this logo is so creative. It is definitely one of the ones that I liked best in class. Until I read your design strategy, I had no idea that the line extending out from the center of the record was a musical note. To me, that just adds depth to your design. It is a subtle detail that makes your logo more unique.

    I think your choice to use a record for your logo says a lot about your personality. A logo involving music could have been anything. But the fact that you went with vinyl, something that isn’t common in today’s society, gives off a mature and elegant vibe. I’m not sure if that’s what you were going for, but someone who uses a record as their logo gives off a different impression than someone who uses a CD.

    Overall, great job. I think the logo works great for all three pieces of the set. Especially as the “stamp” on the back of your envelope!

    Reply

  4. Posted by ccjacquez on March 3, 2011 at 1:26 AM

    your logo is AWESOME! I love how the colors are bright enough to make it stand out, but are still very professional through the incorporation of simple black and white. I can’t stress enough how well the font works with the shapes in the logo. The circular counters in the letter compliment the circles in the logo so much. I also like how the contact info is a little rounded on the left side which also works well with the logo. Overall. I think it was an awesome idea that was nicely executed.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Stephanie on March 4, 2011 at 8:35 PM

    Thanks guysss :):)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

