Yellin-Stationary Set-Post 5

Greg Yellin
Rationale
Project #2 Personal Logo and Stationary Set
3/1/2011

Design Strategy:
My goal in solving the design problem was to keep my logo simple and my designs consistent. Because my logo has to work both large, on a letterhead, and small, on a business card, I made it using only eight simple shapes. I decided to make a personal, rather than professional, logo and chose a megaphone for two reasons; it is a play on words of my last name, Yellin, and because as vice president of my fraternity, I often have to yell at other brothers who break the rules. It has actually been suggested that I use a megaphone in chapter meetings to make sure that no one talks over me.

Style Sheet:
Business Card:    Name: Gill Sans, 14.5 pt., 15 pt. leading, no tracking
Body Text: Gill Sans, 11 pt., 15 pt. leading, no tracking

Envelope:    Gill Sans, 16.5 pt., 19.8 pt. leading, no tracking

Letterhead:    Name: Gill Sans, 36 pt., 43.2 pt. leading, no tracking
Address, Email, and number: Gill Sans, 36 pt., 43.2 pt. leading, no tracking
Body Text: Times New Roman, 11 pt., 13.2 pt. leading
Typefaces:
I chose Gill Sans as the typeface to use throughout my business card, envelope, and letterhead because I wanted to use a sans serif font that looks good when used for display. I used the same typeface for everything with the exception of the body text under the letterhead because I wanted to keep the look and design of each piece of stationary consistent. I chose Times New Roman for my rationale because it is a serif font and is easier to read than is a sans serif.

Margins:
Business Card:     Right/Left:     1p6.82
Top/Bottom:     1p10.03

Letterhead:    Right/Left:     2p11.5
Top/Bottom:

Visuals:
I chose the color blue for my logo and designs because it has always been my favorite color. As for the shapes in my logo, there are four shapes divided by negative white space to comprise the actual megaphone and the triangles to the right increase in width as they get farther away from the megaphone to indicate load noise eminating from it.

 

Leave a Reply

