Jacquez – Spring Break Post

 

I saw this poster on a New York City train and was instantly caught by the image and the colors. The image was interesting because it was an cool play on liquid being poured from a beverage and what fat looks like inside of the body. It works well and doesn’t take too much thought to understand what the image is trying to portray. Also the colors are vibrant enough to catch your attention without being too loud. The pink bold works well in the ad and is used constantly to highlight the most important words in the ad. The fonts are bold and loud just like the message. Overall its a good way to show how sugary drinks are full of fat and is eye catching and makes someone look at the ad and inquire more about what the message is.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by cchou03 on March 24, 2011 at 8:21 PM

    I do agree with your comments on how the colors are being well-used. However, it took me a while to figure out that it is body fat inside the glasses. Maybe it is the color that showed on the internet affect the image. I thought they could’ve make it easier for the audience to see that it is body fat. Without realizing it is body fat in the glasses, the message is hare to get across the audiences.

    Reply

  2. Posted by mjcohen13 on March 25, 2011 at 3:36 PM

    I agree that it is difficult at first to realize the liquid is supposed to represent body fat. However, once I read your explanation, the poster took on a whole new meaning to me. I think it’s well conceived and definitely gets the point across. One thing that I think is interesting is that the bottle is almost an exact replica of a Snapple Iced Tea bottle, simply without the logo. I wonder if the high amount of sugar in that particular beverage was a target of this campaign. I think the pink was a very strong color choice for this poster as a secondary color. It clearly stands out right away. The first thing I noticed was the word “pounds”, and in a society where weight loss is everywhere, that drew me in to see what the rest of the ad was.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

