Yellin-Post10-Magazine Project

YellinMagazine02

Design Strategy:

My magazine, New York Baseball, is a stapled, monthly magazine that is subscription based but is also successful in New York City news stands and kiosks. The target for my magazine is predominantly men aged 25 and older who like baseball and are fans of either the Mets or the Yankees (or both). My magazine, in style, has more of a sports news feel to it, similar to that of Sports Illustrated as opposed to ESPN Magazine. Everything on the cover and opening spread aligns to other things and I designed my jump spread on a 12 column grid (6 columns per page). On the jump spread, each column of the main article spans two grid columns with the picture of Lucas Duda and the pull quote being the same width. The pictures of David Wright and Jose Reyes on the jump spread are each four grid columns wide but still don’t break the grid. The side bar box is the width of the entire right page, six columns, with two columns of text. The only things on my jump spread that do not align to the grid are the folios and the photo credits.

Style Sheet:

Cover:

Title: Impact, 77.75 pt. (120% height)

Date: Thonburi, 10 pt.

Headline: Stone Sans ITC TT, Bold, 59 pt., 54 pt. leading

Deck Head: Stone Sans ITC TT, Bold, 20 pt., 24 pt. leading

Story Lines : Stone Sans ITC TT, Bold, 22 pt.

Story Deck Heads: Stone Sans ITC TT, Bold, 11 pt., 13.2 pt. leading

‘David Wright’: Stone Sans ITC TT, Bold, 22 pt.

‘Mets Thirdbaseman’: Stone Sans ITC TT, Bold, 11 pt., 13.2 pt. leading

Opening Spread:

Headline: Stone Sans ITC TT, Bold, 80 pt., 69 pt. leading (90% height)

Deck Head: Stone Sans ITC TT, Bold, 25 pt., 30 pt. leading

By Line: Stone Sans ITC TT, Bold, 17 pt.

Photo Credit: Thonburi, 14pt.

Jump Spread:

Article Body Copy: Palatino, 10 pt., 13pt. leading

Pull Quote: Stone Sans ITC TT, Bold, 21 pt., 25.2 pt. leading

Side Bar Headline: Stone Sans ITC TT, Bold, 28 pt., 33.6 pt. leading

Side Bar Body Copy: Stone Sans ITC TT, Semi, 10.75 pt., 12.9 pt. leading

Captions: Verdana, Bold, 10 pt. (12 pt. leading for Lucas Duda picture)

Photo Credits: Verdana, Regular, 6 pt.

Folios: Stone Sans ITC TT, Bold, 8 pt.

Choice of Typefaces:

As previously mentioned, my magazine is a sports news magazine so I chose Impact for my title because I feel as though it conveys that message; Impact is a sans serif but still gives the impression that it is a more intellectual magazine about baseball. The rest of the text on my cover, as well as on my opening spread, is in Stone Sans ITC TT Bold. I chose that font because it is a sans serif and I feel as though it does a good job of conveying both that the magazine has strong editorial content but is also about a lighter subject matter, baseball. For the body copy on my jump spread, I chose Palatino because it is a serif font and is easy to read. I went back to Stone Sans ITC TT Bold for my pull quote and side bar headline (and Stone Sans ITC TT Semi for the side bar copy) to draw back on elements of the cover and opening spread, that is the same reason I used Stone Sans ITC TT for the folios. I also like the sans serif typeface for my sidebar copy because it is easier to read than is a serif when used with white text on a darker background. I used Verdana for the captions and photo credits just as a means of differentiating them from the rest of the content.

Margins:

Cover:

Top: 3p1.8

Right: 1p7.2

Left: 1p6.36

Bottom: 8p8 (to last story line)

Opening Spread: (Image bleeds to the edge on all sides of the spread)

Left: 9p6.04 (to text)

Jump Spread:

Top: 4p0

Inside: 4p0

Outside: 4p0

Bottom: 4p9.6

Visuals:

All of the images I used were saved from the internet as JPEG files and were moved into Photoshop, they were adjusted to 150 ppi and changed to the CMYK color display and then saved as EPS files before being placed in Indesign. The cover image of David Wright is a picture from picturepush.com, it is used at 11.4 by 15.9 inches (the largest it could be displayed at 150 ppi) but is cropped to about a 6 by 11 inch image.The image on the opening spread is from vsndaily.com and is displayed at 22.9 by 15.3 inches (92% its maximum size at 150 ppi). It is cropped so that it displays the main part of the image over the entire tabloid size spread. The picture of David Wright on the jump spread is from mlbblogs.com and is displayed at 4.7 by 4.2 inches (73.8% its maximum size at 150 ppi) but is cropped and shown on the page at 4.7 by 3 inches. The picture of Lucas Duda is from wikipedia.org and is displayed at 96.5% its maximum size at 150 ppi but is cropped on the page to 2.3 by 3 inches. The picture of Jose Reyes is from bonanzasports.net and is displayed at 69% its maximum size at 150 ppi but is cropped on the page to 5 by 3.6 inches.

Because my feature article is about the Mets, I used their colors, blue and orange, as well as white, grey, and black, as the color scheme for my magazine. There is a little orange on the  cover picture of David Wright (outlining his logo and number) so I decided to make the background color of the cover orange (C: 0%, M: 66.78%, Y: 100%, K: 0%). I made the title of the magazine white and used the blue from Wright’s jersey for the headline and deck head of the feature story (C: 100%, M: 82%, Y: 0%, K: 0%). I also used the same blue for the lines. I used white for the other story lines (and ‘David Wright’) and 82% grey for the story deck heads (and ‘Mets Third Baseman’). The picture of David Wright that covers the entire jump spread incorporates the blue, orange, and white, in my color scheme so I darkened the right side of the image, where there is nothing important, and put the headline and deck head in white with a 59% and 40% drop shadow respectively (this includes the by line and photo credit). All three of the pictures in my jump spread also incorporate blue, orange, and white. To complement that, I used the orange from my cover for the stroke above the article and the pull quote and I used the original blue from the cover for the drop cap and side bar background. In addition, my side bar text is white and my folios are grey with orange dividing lines. All of these elements are drawn from my cover and my original color scheme.

Extras:

The headline of my sidebar article is ‘The Mets Farm System’. My feature article is about how the Mets are looking to rebuild and show promise for the future so it would be natural for an article of that nature to feature a section about the Mets minor league teams. The side bar story is about the young players the Mets have in their farm system that could potentially be major leaguers in the future.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Stephanie on April 19, 2011 at 11:25 AM

    I like that you carried the orange and blue colors from your cover through your jump spread. I think this is a nicely designed men’s magazine, I think your target audience is really clear through your design. I like some of the action shots you found and used in your jump spread!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

