Ortman-Magazine-Post 10

OrtmanMagazine01Leigh Ortman
Rationale
Project 4: Magazine Design
4/18/11
 
Design Strategy:
I know that whenever my friends and I go to see a show, concert, or movie, it is a priority to sit in the front row. By sitting/standing in the front row, one is able to view everything up close and personal before everyone else can. When this project was assigned, I wanted to create a magazine that gave people the very first look into the biggest things in media. Front Row Magazine, is a monthly magazine that can be bought at your local newsstand alongside People and Glamour. Front Row puts the reader at the front of the line for anything show business. It is more of an edgier and cool magazine rather than a feminine cheesy tabloid. Front Row gives readers what they want to know and how to be at star status. My target audience is that of younger generation between 18-35 years old primarily female. I wanted Front Row to stand out amongst the rest of magazines one sees at their local convenience store. Their covers always push the envelope and their stories are the biggest one will find. I found Rihanna to be an appropriate celebrity to showcase in an issue because her image is risky, eye-popping, yet sophisticated at the same time which are all qualities Front Row prides itself on. One design problem I had was making sure the cover stories did not take away from the cover picture. I wanted the titles to stand out but not be obnoxious. The cover image was a bit difficult to work with for title colorings. I wanted to make sure everything was aligned and clean-cut so the magazine did not lose any of its organized appeal.
 
Style Sheet:
Cover Title: Mona Lisa Solid ITC TT Regular, 83 pt./96 pt.; kerned
Magazine Issue Date: Minion Pro Regular, 12 pt./14.4. pt.; no kerning
Rihanna Headline: Charlemagne Std Bold, 40 pt./48 pt.; no kerning
Rihanna Cover Story Text: Hoefler Text Black 18 pt./21.6 pt; no kerning
Hangover 2 Opening Text: Stone Sans Sem ITC TT Semi, 20 pt./24 pt; no kerning
Hangover 2 Movie Title: Georgia Bold, 24 pt./28.8 pt.; no kerning
Spring Outfits Title: Lucida Grande Regular, 30 pt./36 pt.; no kerning
Spring Outfits Cover Story Text: Stone Sans Sem ITC TT Semi, 18 pt./21.6 pt.; no kerning
Celeb Status Title: Stone Sans Sem ITC TT Semi, 30 pt./36 pt.; no kerning
Celeb Status Cover Story Text: Stone Sans Sam ITC TT Semi, 24 pt./28.8 pt.; no kerning
Opening Spread Title – Red Hot: Big Caslon Medium, 100 pt./120 pt.; no kerning
Opening Spread Title – &: Big Caslon Medium, 200 pt./240 pt.; no kerning
Opening Spread Title – On: Big Caslon Medium, 125 pt./150 pt.; no kerning
Opening Spread Title – Fire: Big Caslon Medium, 150 pt./180 pt.; no kerning
Deckhead: Hoefler Text Italic, 24 pt./28.8 pt.; no kerning
Opening Spread Photo Credit: Times New Roman Regular, 9 pt./10.8 pt.; no kerning
Jump Spread Body Text: Times New Roman Regular, 9 pt./10.8 pt.; no kerning
Large Left-page Right-hand corner photo credit: Times New Roman Regular, 8 pt./9.6 pt.; no kerning
Bottom Story Title: Big Caslon Medium, 24 pt./28.8 pt.; no kerning
Album Years: Times New Roman Regular, 14 pt./16.8 pt.; no kerning
Album Names: Big Caslon Medium, 12 pt./13 pt.; no kerning
Album Photo Credits: Times New Roman Regular, 6 pt./7.2 pt.; no kerning
Page Numbers: Mona Lisa Solid ITC TT Regular, 18 pt./21.6 pt.; no kerning
Folios: Mona Lisa Solid ITC TT Regular, 9 pt./10.8 pt.; no kerning
Pull Quote: Palatino, 18.164 pt./21.796 pt.; no kerning
Sidebar Title: Snell Roundhand, 30 pt./36 pt.; no kerning
Sidebar Body Text: Ariel Regular, 9 pt./10.8 pt.; no kerning
Sidebar Photo Credit: Times New Roman Regular, 7 pt./8.4 pt.; no kerning
 
 
Choice of Typeface:
For my magazine spread, I wanted to convey typefaces that went along with the theme and vibe of the magazine but also specific typefaces that would appeal to a Rihanna based audience in regards to her editorial spread. I found the Mona Lisa Solid ITC TT typeface to be the perfect typeface to represent my magazine. The typeface is classic, elongates, yet edgy in its appearance. I wanted to attract readers that were eager to get the first glance at the hottest phase in Hollywood at the moment. I love using a serif font for the cover title of the magazine because it differentiates and contrasts well with the sans serif bold typefaces used for the cover stories. I selected a variety of serif and sans serif, but mostly sans serif typefaces, for the cover stories because they are bolder, more equally distributed in stroke weight, and grab the attention of a passerby immediately. The Stone Sans Sam ITC TT Semi, Lucida Grande Regular, and George Bold gave a more lightbeat tone in comparison to the cover picture and title that play off of each other in that edgy, sex appeal way. I made sure that Rihanna was in a sans serif font (Charlemagne Std Bold) so it complimented her eye-grabbing photography along with the sans serif font of the title of the magazine. For the opening spread, I wanted the main headline to be bold and in ones face, just as Rihanna is in always pushing the envelope throughout her career. Big Caslon Medium had great variation in stroke weight yet still thick for its easy readability. The typefaces attitude and appearance goes along great with the words being said. I made the deckhead a bit more feminine and quieter by using Hoefler Text Italic to play off the innocent yet stylish persona Rihanna exhibits in the background picture of the spread. Times New Roman is a timeless typeface and so easy to read which is why I chose to use it for the majority of my jump spread including the article itself, photo credits, and album dates. It is a simple serif font that remains balanced between being too fancy and too geometric. On the other hand, to compliment a serif typeface as the main body text, I incorporated a sans serif typeface, Ariel, for the sidebar story because of its artsy feel in regards to the many tattoos she proudly sports. I found a serif font to be appropriate as Rihanna discusses her life journey and success, while the sidebar acts as a funkier alter ego in talking about her body art. Throughout my jump spread, I also repeated fonts to reiterate and connect the article together. I found the Big Caslon Medium to be a good suit as a title for Rihannas timeline of albums, Hoefler Text Italic for the pull quote, and the Mono Lisa Solid ITC TT typeface for the folios displayed at the bottom of the page. Overall, my goal was to make sure I balanced between being outgoing and suggestive in appearance in regards to both what the magazine stands for and Rihannas persona.
 
Margins:
Top Margin: 3 picas
Left/Inside Margin: 3.2 picas
Right/Outside Margin: 2.10 picas
Bottom Margin: 4 picas
 
Visuals:
Each image that I selected to incorporate in my magazine spread was found by searching Google Images. I wanted a cover grabbed that attention of a reader and nothing sells better than sex appeal. I found the cover for my magazine at hyphymarket.com and was instantly drawn in by it. The image oozes sex appeal and focuses on her seductive face that seems to be looking at the reader. I found it to be very appropriate to use as my cover because it matches the description of the magazine and the article that discusses Rihanna’s edgy and rebellious side. For the opening spread, I found a photograph of Rihanna sitting that fit wonderfully as an opening spread image. I located this photography on bestcelebwallpapers.com. This photograph shows the other side of Rihanna we all know and love. Her innocence and embracing gesture she models goes along with how she continues to remain true to herself regardless of how wild she dresses. Her body perfectly fits the left page, leaving her legs and arms to extend over onto the right page giving just the right about of room for a headline and deckhead to introduce the article. In the jump spread I found the performing side of Rihanna and the energy she delivers no matter where she is or what she is doing which is her personality dead-on. I found this photo (top right hand corner of left page) on usgirlonline.com. At the bottom of the article, I created a timeline similar to that in the original article of how she has evolved throughout the years by her music instead of her fashion (which what was previously done). The album covers speak for themselves in showing off how Rihanna has matured from  a generic pop singer to a global superstar. Her first album was found at mp3get.com, her second album was found at musicrapid.blogspot.com, the third album was on uulyrics.com, the fourth album was on the page of popcrunch.com, and the final album I found at muumuse.com. On the right of the right page of the jump spread is the sidebar article in which I incorporated an image of Rihanna’s tattoo due to that being what the story was about. I found this photograph at allhairstyles.org. Each photo I used in my magazine spread was to mainly show off the various sides of Rihanna that are discussed in the article and how she stays true to herself through it all. Her images are lively and attractive which is why I found her to be a perfect fit for Front Row Magazine.
 
Extras:
The article I based my magazine spread off of can be found in the April 2011 Shape Issue of Vogue Magazine. In summary, the article touches base on how Rihanna rose to stardom, the personal struggles she’s had along the way, and how she has taken everything she has learned thus far to shape herself into a world icon by still being herself without conforming. Rihanna is at the top of her game right now which is why I found her to be a great suitor for my Front Row magazine editorial. Front Row is all about giving the reader the first look at the biggest shows in show business such as Rihanna’s overwhelming recent success. My article concentrates on her and how refreshing it is to see an artist who has not conformed to Hollywood’s demands but has rather continued to step past the boundary to create her distinct image. Through it all Rihanna takes pride in her homeland of Barbados and will remain that way which is great. In the Vogue article, they displayed a montage of photos throughout the years of her evolution in fashion/self-image. I chose to change that up by displaying each album and let the reader see first hand how each cover is so different from the other. As she began to change, her music became raw and more personal which can be visibly seen in the album covers. The Vogue article did not have a sidebar story, so for the one I included in my article I made it about her tattoos. Rihanna is notorious for inking herself and she is not afraid to hide them. I felt that since the article loved to talk about her evolution in looks, fashion, and music, why not include a sidebar about her tattoo body art as well that has grown significantly over the years. Her tattoos tell her story which is why I found it to be an appropriate sidebar story to have.
2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by gsyellin on April 20, 2011 at 2:58 PM

    I really like your magazine, I think you did a good job of playing off the pictures you used in terms of the color scheme. Your cover is very well executed and all of the text is readable and hierarchical in style. I also like the way you laid out your opening spread. Its a nice picture and I like the way you emphasized it and and complemented it the headline and deck head. Good job.

    Reply

  2. Posted by idong814 on April 21, 2011 at 3:31 PM

    I definitely love your cover picture. It is so powerful and really hard to get over with the fierce of this magazine. I can see your dominant color for entire project is red. Very consistent theme and love the pictures you picked for sidebars. The typeface on sidebar, which is on right side, is very feminine and curvy that shows Rihanna’s representation, too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

