Cammett-Magazine-Post 10

Cammettmagazine01

Design Strategy:

Ultimate magazine will be a stapled magazine geared towards men aged 20-35. It is a typical sports magazine, with mature informative articles similar to Sports Illustrated, however a little less serious. The articles will not be as lengthy, and will have more visuals. It is more targeted towrads the lower half of the Sorts Illustrated audience. Starting with the cover I chose to make it very simple particularly because I, being a regular sports magazine reader, am attracted the plain covers that are not covered in headlines. Almost every magazine on the shelf is very crowded, so it the basic covers that stick out over others, as long as the visuals are appealing. As for the opening spread, I also went with a more basic feel with the black and white background and the gradient transferring to a whole white page with the headline, by-line, and deck head. Here I worked the pitcher around the most memorable parts of Citizens Bank Park, so it is obvious where Roy Halladay is. In the opening spread, like I said before I chose to dedicate a large part of the page to visuals in order to attract more of the younger, relaxed audience. In order to bring all three pages together I chose to carry the famous Phillies Red throughout the spreads. I tried adding particular visuals such as lines and details to connect them all, but it seemed to be too much. The target audience is men and they do not like fancy cluttered magazines like females. I thought the color was sufficient.

Style Sheet:

 Cover:

Magazine Name

Ultimate: Univers LT Std, 75 Black, 124pt/149: manual tracking, 11 degree skew, no kerning

Sports: Univers LT Std, 57 condensed, 70pt/84; -40 tracking, no kerning

Main Story Headline

MLB Beware: Univers LT std, 67 bold condensed, 24pt/29; no tracking, no kerning

The Big: Cochin, regular, 55pt/56: no kerning

Four: Cochin, regular, 85pt/72: -73 tracking, no kerning

Halladay & Company: Univers LY Std, 67 bold condensed; no kerning

Page 4: Univers LT Std, 75 black, 12pt/14, 100 tracking, no kerning

Side Stories

Tom Brady: Italian old style MT std, bold, 24pt/29; no kerning

And the Pats: Italian old style mt std, regular, 22pt/21; no kerning

New: univers lt std, 65 bold condensed 30p/40; no kerning

NFL scouting: Univers lt std, 67 bold condensed, 24pt/29; no kerning

 

Opening Spread:

Headline

Pitchin’: Cochin, bold, 101pt/60; no kerning

Their way to:  Italian old style lt std, italic, 72pt/80, 8 baseline shift; no kerning

Success: Cochin, bold,100pt/100, 8 baseline shift; no kerning

By Line: ITC avant garde, medium condensed, 24pt/29; no kerning

Deck head: Italian old style mt std, regular, 20pt/24; 10 tracking, no kerning

Folio: Octavian mt std, regular, 9pt/11; 25 tracking, no kerning

Jump Spread:

R: Cochin, bold, 10/12; 70 tracking, no kerning

Body Text: Italian old style mt std, regular, 10pt/12; manual tracking, no kerning

Pull quote: Italian old style mt std, bold, 14pt/17; no kerning

Caption: ITC avant garde, medium condensed, 9pt/11; no kerning

Photo citations: ITC avant garde, book condensed, 8pt/10; no kerning

Folio: same as opening spread

Side Bar:

Headline: ITC veljovic std, black, 23pt/28; no kerning

Date Labels: Cochin, bold, 18pt/21; no kerning

Body Text: Kabel std, book, 9pt/11; no kerning

Choice of Typefaces:

                  I would say choosing the typefaces was my largest issue with the creation of this magazine. The main typeface I used on the cover was Univers LT Std. It is a relaxed sans serif typeface, which targets the relaxed younger audience I am looking for, and it goes well with the simple grey background. In order to contrast this typeface, and make the main story headline stick out from the others I used the serif typeface, Cochin. It has a nice stoke weight that contrasts the thick stroke weight and boldness of Univers. In the opening spread I used the Cochin serif typeface again with the flowy Italian old style serif typeface. Even though it is serif with serif, I though it still contrasted the harsh ornaments on the Cochin typeface well. Moving to the by line I chose to work in a sans serif to make it stick out a little more since I chose a thinner stroke weight. As for the body and the deck head of my article I chose to use Italian Old Style because it is very legible, and has a high x-height so it works well small. In the side bar I chose to use Kaleb Std for the body copy, which is a sans serif typeface. I Carefully chose this typeface because sans serifs work better when you have white writing against a colored background.

Margins:

Cover:      Bottom: 1p6

Top: 1p6

Left: 1p8

Right: 1p4

 

Opening Spread:

Left Page: none to text

Right page:

Bottom: 15p1 (no including folio)

Top: 15p1

Right: 5p11

Left: 5p11

Jump Spread:

Margin to text:

Bottom: 4p0

Top: 3p6

Inside: 2p3

Outside: 3p6

Gutter: 1p0

Margin to red line:

Bottom: 1p11

Top: 1p11

Inside: 2p3

Outside: 3p6

Visuals:

Like I explained in my design strategy, my goal was to keep it very simple. I tried a number of different visuals to connect all of the spreads, but I felt like the Phillies signature red, was enough. However, I did choose to as lines to my jump spread on the stop in bottom in order to give the page some definition. Nothing really broke the margins so it looked extremely boxy. The lines give it a more graphic feel.

Photos With Credits:

Cover:

Roy Halladay: www.fingerfood.typepad.com

Opening Spread:

Roy Halladay: www.eagletribune.com

Citizens Bank Park: www.luecker.net

Jump Spread:

Cole Hamels: www.nj.com

Pitchers at Spring Training: www.thereporteronline.com

Extras:

                   I chose to put a sidebar on the page to give it more color. It was the main area where I carried over the Phillies Red color to attach it to the other pages. However, even though I made it the same color the reader is still able to clearly see that it is not a part of this article by the amount of white space I put after the body text of the article. I also chose to put it into four columns rather than two to really differentiate it.

I chose to do the side bar on the Phillies since the 50’s to give the reader some background on their success and the World Series. After all the article is talking about how these pitchers will bring them to the 2011 Word Series, so I though it was a nice side piece of information that most people don’t know already.

As for the design of the side bar, I specifically chose not to put picture in it. I thought the two visuals on that page were sufficient, especially since the middle picture is so large. After thinking about it, if I were to make a second jump spread for this article I would have put the side bar on the second page and definitely used visuals, but will only one jump spread I though there would be too many pictures, the red background was enough to attract the reader.

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by gushlaw11 on April 21, 2011 at 7:37 PM

    I really like the cover of your magazine. It definitely fits your target audience and the type of magazine you chose. Your typefaces were my favorite part. In your rationale you said that it was your hardest choice but I really think that it fits your particular magazine well. I like how the cover isn’t too crowded and it is bright and catches the audiences attention. Likewise, your sidebar’s bright red also caught my attention and made me want to read it too.

    Reply

  2. Posted by cchou03 on April 22, 2011 at 12:05 PM

    I like your magazine!! The color is very consistent, and with a simple layout design, it is easy to read with a very classic feel of the magazine.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

