Dong-Magazine-Post10

DongMagazine01

Design Strategy:

‘ White’ magazine is a wedding magazine targeting brides anyone whose looking for detailed and useful information for their wedding. It was difficult to create wedding image on the cover because I first thought using various colors would create happy mood on the magazine. At the end, I limited myself using less than five different colors and keep clean image of wedding. And for my article, I combined two extreme colors to create contrast and feel of yin and yang because yin and yang represents harmony with simple design elements and I though Vera Wang’s dresses are like that. As a result, jump spread and body copy were also color challenge for me.

Style Sheet:

>Cover

Magazine title: Rotation LT Std Roman, 138/165.6    Month/Year: Rotation LT Std Roman, 11/ 13.2

Titles (Counter-clock wise): 60 – Avenir LT Std 95 Black, 91/37   Amazing – Avenir LT Std 95 Black, 48/37 Looks – Avenir LT Std 95 Black, 53/46   For~Honeymoon- Avenir LT Std 95 Black, 30/24

Sweet – Avenir LT Std 95 Black, 28/24 Brilliant – Avenir LT Std 85 Heavy, 22/14.4

Keep – Avenir LT Std 95 Black, 23/18   Jewerly – Avenir LT Std 85 Heavy, 18/18

Love- Avenir LT Std 95 Black, 45/36     101 – Avenir LT Std 95 Black, 24/22

Main article Title:  ‘Vera Wang’ – Calson 3 LT Std Italic, 85/58     Behind- Avenir LT Std 95 Black, 30/24

Journey: Avenir LT Std 95 Black, 24/26

Website on the bottom left: Baskerville Regular, 10/12

>Opening Spread

Headline:  Vera Wang – Minion Pro Regular, 36/43.2     21st Century – Baskerville Regular, 50/60

Deck head: Baskerville Regular, Italic, 14/16.8

By-line: Minion Pro regular, 12/14.4     Photo credit: Baskerville Regular, 10/12

>Jump Spread

Body text: Palatino regular, 9/10.8

Pull quotes: (left) “-“, Baskerville Italic, 17.064/17.064    Ralph, Baskerville Bold, 12.286/14.743

(right) “-“, Baskerville Italic, 18/21.6             Michael, Baskerville Bold, 18/21.6

Sidebar: Title – Vera, Helvetica Inserat LT Std Roman, 78.215/93.858

Wang, Helvetica Inserat LT Std Roman, 66.964/80.357

On Public, Helvetica Inserat LT Std Roman, 20.745/24.893

Body – Palatino, 9/10.8

Folio (right): Baskerville regular, 7/8.4

Choice of typefaces:

To create overall unity on the cover, I used Avenir LT Std family and modified them by sizes and colors. And to put emphasis on main article I used different typeface, which is Calson 3 LT Std. I looked for serif typeface that looks similar to magazine title to avoid mismatching. In opening spread, I used Minion Pro on her name to make similar to her brand logo. In addition, to create simple and sophisticated mood I used Baskerville for my headline and deck head. I used Palatino that is most common typeface for magazine and it is small enough to fit the entire article in pages as designer intends. I used Helvetica for my sidebar title to differentiate the sidebar from body text.

Margins:     Top – 3p0     Bottom – 3p0     Inside – 5p0     Outside – 3p0

Visuals:

Cover – Scanned from ‘the Bridal Guide’ wedding dress photo. I liked the model’s hair color and her smile. And her flower bouquet inspired me of choosing colors for titles.

Open Spread – I liked that Vera Wang is staring at the reader (actually a camera). And the black and white picture creates sophisticated and calm mood in the article. Also it makes her look more professional and skilled designer since the black and white photo has feeling of old and antique atmosphere. http://hautezone.blogspot.com/2010/04/living-legend-vera-wang.html

Jump Spread – Because I have three dominant pictures on the bottom sidebar, I didn’t want to have too many images floating around the page and take away the simplicity of my design. So I used pull quotes for body text.

Extras

I spent a lot of time on my title because I wanted to make the sidebar stands out from the body text. I wanted to make the sidebar where readers can rest their eyes and have fun looking at Vera Wang’s dress on celebrities. I used sidebar body text as describing her work and when and where her dress were on.

(left to right) http://www.stockweddingtips.com/2011/04/12/vera-wang-wedding-dress-bride-wars/

http://www.focusonstyle.com/Blog/Chelsea-Clinton-wedding-gown-Vera-Wang

davidsbridal.me

Leave a Reply

